“As Cool As The Other Side Of The Pillow”

Recently, the world has lost a amazing individual of the sports broadcasting world, a man that brought such a new and innovative style to ESPN and SportsCenter that was not prominently seen before on the leading sports station. This man’s name is Stuart Scott, and his style of broadcasting changed the way we listen to the news on ESPN. Through the innovative sayings that he used throughout the highlights of SportsCenter, to the fresh take he presented for each story; he became one of the most recognizable faces of the ESPN family for the past 20 years. Stuart also became a major inspiration to many people who are fighting cancer, as well as all of the people out there that wanted to grow up and do what he does.

Stuart Scott started his career at ESPN in 1993, and ever since then he changed the way sports was broadcasted on ESPN. His fresh style of broadcasting made the shows he anchored feel much more comfortable to watch compared to the more serious news broadcasts that you may see. He utilized some very unorthodox catch phrases during his broadcasts like “Booyah,” and “As cool as the other side of the pillow,” that were not normally used during ESPN broadcasting. One of my favorite catch phrases that he used was; “Call him butter, cause he’s on a roll.” It’s just one of those sayings that works, but was never actually utilized on the air. With his uncanny ability to create these sayings, as well as his fresh delivery method of the news, he was able to create a much more comfortable broadcast so that a younger generation would enjoy listening to the program as well. Adding to this, he was also a major inspiration to many people, including myself, with the work that he did in sports broadcasting.

As a sports broadcaster, Stuart Scott was one of my idols growing up as a kid. Every morning when I was younger, I would always turn on SportsCenter while I had my breakfast just so that I could hear Stuart Scott give the news in sports. If I turned on SportsCenter and Stuart was not an anchor for that segment, I would not watch that segment because of it. Adding to it, the way that Stuart Scott delievered the news made him one of the most recognizable faces on ESPN, as well as one of the most well liked personalities of all time. The way that he broadcasted the news in a fun and inviting way made many kids, just like me, want to grow up and do the same job that he was doing. As I pursue my dream of getting into the field of sports broadcasting, I hope that I will always do my job with the fun and love that Stuart Scott did his job with everyday of his career.

Now, I didn’t know Stuart Scott and I never had the opportunity to meet him, so I know that I do not have any personal stories that I could share like the other members of ESPN shared when they were honoring Stuart on television. But I hope that this article and what I have shared does justice for how he was an inspiration. During his time with ESPN, he helped bring the company to a new level with his fresh way of providing the news to the world. It is sad to see such a bright individual leave us, but thank you for all of the great memories that you have brought the world. So rest in peace Mr. Stuart Scott, you will truly be missed. Now to end, I would like to leave you with the amazing quote said by Stuart Scott during his speech at the 2014 ESPYS;

“When you die, it does not mean that you lost to cancer. You beat cancer by how you live, why you live, and in the manner in which you live. So live. Live! Fight like hell. And when you get to tired to fight, lay down and rest and let someone else fight for you.”

Leave a Reply

